Do you MIND?!

If I had 10,000 Spoons but I needed a knife, I would return to my roots. I do have fingers that work. So, I’d use those. I don’t particularly find it ironic. In fact, what exactly is irony? My dad talked about all sorts of strange things like paradox and parallel and paradigm shifting. Which of these is like irony? You tell me. And while you’re thinking about that, I’ll think about a commercial that used to come on the idiot box at dinner time every night for months.

“Do you mind if I talk to you about diarrhea?” Dad would always holler, “YES! I DO MIND!” and unceremoniously click off the set. That is irony–expecting to watch a nice t05866c6d2fbcb408ebd4fbcc42c92d7eelevision program during dinner about sperm whales mating in the salty ocean but instead hearing about how Pepto Bismol can help you poop. Cool.

I really don’t have any idea where this post is headed. Quite honestly, all I’ve been thinking about for days is perception and how it relates to life. Our perception is the most important filter we can lay over all that we experience. It doesn’t matter if you think that you were/are the best mother in the whole entire world if your child does not also feel the same. Your child’s perception is what matters most. If he/she genuinely feels unloved, you have a lot of work to do and right now! Of course, just to be clear, this obviously has not a thing to do with me because I have applied the “perfect” filter to my life.

Anyhow, why do you think Ms. Morissette didn’t sing about the Pepto commercial? If she wanted to sing about irony, it should have been that. That would have been some good advice that she just didn’t take.

Leave a Reply

