Hayley Bugs Mark

You are hosting a dinner party and get to invite three musicians, living or dead. Who do you invite and why?

A dinner party? No. Although, as modestly evidenced by my last blog, I CAN bake some seriously delicious grub. Excepting, of course, pie crust—but that’s a conversation for another time. Anyhow, why would I invite three musicians to a dinner party? More likely it would be a play-for-me-in-my-living-room-while-I-drink-wine-in-my-skivies-and-am-fed-grapes-by-a-personal-assistant party. Whew. That was a long name for a party. But doesn’t that sound better than some lame dinner party? Who would I invite? Without much fanfare, I give you my list of three:

  • Mark Knopfler
  • Hayley Williams
  • Bugs Bunny

Okay, I know that Bugs is a fictional character. The prompt doesn’t say anything about fiction so I improvised. I learned to love classical and jazz music from my Saturday morning cartoons. I would wake up extra early every Saturday (a feat accomplished without an alarm clock!) and gingerly shuffle into the living room with a colossal bowl of Berry Berry Kix that may or may not have spilled over the sides. I especially loved when he played the piano. I felt pure, unadulterated joy.

Hayley Williams. Beautiful orange-haired Hayley Williams with her wonderful voice amid all those strong, handsome men in their band Paramore. *le sigh* If only I could have been her. She can sing to me any day.

Of course, Mark Knopfler is my favorite musician. I worship Dire Straits. Who doesn’t like “Romeo and Juliet?” Or “Sultans of Swing?” I could do some “Twisting by the Pool.” I developed my taste for 70s & 80s rock about 15 years ago. As a child, I could have taken or left it. My dad had all these cassette tapes. He lost his mind when he found his Stix album recorded over by some silly little girl. I still can’t imagine how THAT happened…. Anyway, I heard all these wonderful artists and never knew that other music might exist. What’s rap? Is that another word for knock? Obviously I am too distracted to form a cohesive paragraph about Mark. Another time, maybe.

Anyhow, can you see these folks in my living room playing their music for little ole me? I can. It’s my greatest dream after owning my very own spa.

Featured image found @ http://www.couplerituals.org/miscellaneous/king-or-queen-day.

Leave a Reply

